Get shareable link in Google Drive

A shareable link to a document will publish the document as a Web page that can be viewed, edited, or commented on, depending on how you set up the document. The set up will generate a URL that can be shared with others either by email or by pasting it in another type of message or a document. Creating a shareable link can only be performed on one document on a time.

This page covers the following:

Establishing a shareable link
Changing copy and paste link
Email link
Link Sharing
Advanced
Links to other Google pages

 

Establishing a shareable link

Link Sharing On

  • Click on the document you want to share.
  • Then either click the Get shareable link icon in the tool bar above the document list or right-click on the selected document and then click the Get shareable link item. This opens a small dialog with the URL for the document. The default setting is most likely can view.
    • Simply click copy and paste the URL.
    • However, if you want to change the URL to something other than can view, follow the steps in the changing copy and paste link.
    • If you want to change the email link, follow the steps in the email link section.

Click here to return to the table of contents.

Changing the copy and paste link:

Share With Others, Get Shareable Link

  • In the Get shareable link dialog, with link sharing clicked on, click the Sharing settings link at the bottom of the dialog. This opens a Share with others dialog.
  • You can change the settings of what those with the link can do with the document. Click the arrow next to “Anyone with the link xxx” to open the list of choices.
    • OFF – only certain specific can access.
    • can edit
    • can comment
    • can view
    • More: This opens a Link Sharing dialog. This will be covered in the Link Sharing section.
  • If you have chosen any of the above choices except for More, then copy and paste the URL by either highlighting it or by clicking on the Copy link button.

Click here to return to the table of contents.

  • In the Get shareable link dialog, with link sharing clicked on, click the Sharing settings link at the bottom of the dialog. This opens a Share with others dialog.
  • In the text box under the People section, enter names or email addresses. Names are of people who are stored in your Google Contacts.
  • In the drop-down menu to the right of the text box, select one of the following:
    • can edit
    • can comment
    • can view
  • If you want to include a message with the message, enter it in the Add a note text box.
  • When you are done, click the Send button.

Click here to return to the table of contents.

Link Sharing

Link Sharing, Get Shareable Link

This section covers the Link Sharing dialog. This appears when you click the More link in the Get shareable link dialog.

  • The first thing you need to do when the Link Sharing dialog appears is to choose the radio button that corresponds with who you want to share the document with. One of the three is already selected.
    • On – Public on the web: Anyone on the Internet can find and access. No sign-in required.This means that your document can be found through a search engine and anyone who finds it could view, comment, or edit the document, depending on the permission you assign it.
    • On – Anyone with the link can access. No sign-in required.This is just like the previous choice, but the document cannot be found through a Web search.
    • Off – Specific people: Shared with specific people. A URL will still be generated but anyone who uses will see a Web page with asking them to request permission by clicking a provided button. You will typically give permission through the email interface described in the Changing the email link section above.
  • Access (Anyone) No sign-in required. If you have selected one of the two On choices, then you need to select a permission level. One is already set, so if you want a different one, click the arrow to the right of the choice.
    • Can edit
    • Can comment
    • Can view
  • After you have made your choices, click the Save button.

Click here to return to the table of contents.

Advanced

This link opens a dialog that has settings from the Share with others dialog and the Link Sharing dialog. It also allows gives you the choice of allowing editors to share the document with others or not. It also lets you set whether others can download, print, and copy the document.

  • From the Share with others dialog, click the Advanced link in the bottom, right of the dialog. This opens the Sharing settings dialog.

There are several sections to this dialog.

  • Link to share: This shows the link for the document in a text box. It can be copied and pasted into an email message or other type of document that can be shared. There are also icons to share the document through Gmail, Google Plus, Facebook, and Twitter.
    • Gmail: Clicking the Gmail icon opens a new browser window, showing a new message email message. The URL link for the document and its name will be in the body of the email. You need to enter email addresses and add a subject in the Subject field.
    • Google Plus: This opens a new window. Add a comment in the comment field. The second field is for your Google Plus contacts. The default is public. Either type names in the field or use the icon to the right of it to choose contacts from your contact list. Click the x on any contact to remove it. When you are done click the Share button.
  • Who has access: This lists the owner of the document. It also has the setting for Anyone who has this link can … Clicking the change link to the right opens the Link Sharing dialog.
  • Invite people: This is the Email link section.
    • In the text box enter names or email addresses. Names are of people who are stored in your Google Contacts.
    • In the drop-down menu to the right of the text box, select one of the following:
      • can edit
      • can comment
      • can view
    • If you want to include a message with the message.
      • Click the Notify people check box.
      • Click the Add Note button and type a message in the Add a note text box.
      • When you are done, click the Send button.
    • If you did not include a message, then click the OK button.
  • Owner settings: This section has two check boxes. Place checks in them to make them true.
    • Prevent editors from changing access and adding new people.
    • Disable options to download, print, and copy for commenters and viewers.

Click here to return to the table of contents.

Links to other Google pages

Click one of the links below to jump to that page in this Website.

Google’s office suite |Google Drive features overview|Get Shareable link in Google Drive| Move to feature Google Drive | Google Drive Preview feature | Add Star Google Drive | Google Drive Manage versions

Click here to return to the table of contents.